Can I Shoot You?

She oozes creativity like slime…

5458690585_c6fb287159_o

“Nature vs Suburbia” – Adriana Acevedo 2003 inspired by Frida Kahlo’s “What the water has given me”

“At the end of the day, we can endure much more than we think we can.” -Frida Kahlo

A lot of times I get asked who or what is my inspiration when I decide to create a photographic composite image. For me, I find that Frida Kahlo is one of the most influential and inspirational persons that I look up to when I need a creative JOLT!

Frida-vogue-1937-TEST

Frida Kahlo in 1939 when she posed for Vogue magazine.

She oozes creativity like slime.

I would never think to compare my imagery with her paintings, but I feel like a lot of my images can come from a dark place just like hers did. Instead of taking it to her level of depression, I feel like I turn my insecurities, struggles and inner demons into a more positive light.

We also share the same Mexican heritage and we both do self portraits. (Mainly because I have no choice! Haha!)

Then I got to wondering…why does Frida inspire me?

  • She takes what most people perceive as ugly and makes it beautiful and interesting.
  • Her art makes you THINK.
  • Her imagery combines items that don’t make sense into a statement that does.
  • She was polar opposites. physically weak and fragile yet was very strong and opinionated.
  • Her weaknesses didn’t become her crutch. (This especially hits home with me, I use all my weaknesses against myself! )
  • Her usage of bold colour and contrast are mesmerizing.
  • But, I think one of the BIGGEST reasons she inspires me is because she painted because she LOVED it. She did it until the day she died. She was in bed suffering and still she continued to paint.

In next weeks blog post, I will be sharing a few of my surreal image composites and the inspiration behind them.

Until then…enjoy a couple of my favorite paintings by Frida!

The Wounded Deer, 1946

6a00d8341c571453ef0105369e525b970b-320wi

“What the water has given me”, 1938

glrx-994287109

Painting Title: Self-Portrait with Cropped Hair, 1940

This entry was published on February 8, 2013 at 10:01 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

