Can I Shoot You?

Wake up call.

A photoshoot with my cousin LIzet brought us to Gary's First Methodist Church.

A photo session with my cousin Lizet brought us to Gary’s First Methodist Church.

A call from my mom with very upsetting news this past Monday evening  gave me a bit of a wake up call about my procrastination.

Our family lost an uncle very suddenly. Of course, being who I am, I immediately I thought to myself…I never got to photograph him.  Not that his adoring family didn’t have a plethora of photos to remember him by, but there is something special between an artist and her subject and to be honest I regret that I didn’t have that memory to look back on.

As I sit here writing this, I think back to last year when I emailed my family and told them of my 2012 family photo project.

Besides being able to fatten my portfolio, this project was going to be a way for me to:

1. get a nice photo of everyone in the family for future generations to enjoy and in doing so, making memories with them!

2. practice different lighting techniques and styles to achieve the mood or vibe I’m looking for.

3.  get my creative juices flowing.

and finally 4. learn to be more confident. (this is THE biggest hurdle for me!)

I got a very good response from everyone with promises of setting up shoots and gathering ideas for a truly fun and unique experience.  However, as always, life stepped in and took over and these types of commitments and promises got put to the side.

My tio Mikes death has sparked something new in me that will hopefully burst into flames this year.  I want to build strong memories with the family and friends that are with me right now.  Photograph everyone so we can look back and say “hey, that was a cold but fun day” and  “How many times did you had to jump to get the perfect shot?” or “Lets tear apart another feather pillow!” Haha…

The following photos are just a handful of the portraits I took in the past two years of family.  There are a lot of fun stories to go along with each and every one of them. I look forward to photographing the family AND my friends this year!

Thanks to my cousin Jackie and my brother, I got to enter this image into a contest AND won! ;)

Thanks to my cousin Jackie and my brother Efrain, I got to enter this image into a contest AND won! 😉

My brother Efrain letting me practice split lighting techniques.

My brother Efrain letting me practice split lighting techniques.

Playing with lighting ratios and talking my niece Tatiana into letting me apply a ton of bronzer on her!

Playing with lighting ratios and talking my niece Tatiana into letting me apply a ton of bronzer on her!

My fiance’s nephew Jacob allowed me to take his portrait when I got my Orbis Ringflash for my birthday last year!

Portrait of 3 cousins of mine, Lizet, Ania and Jackie. We had so much fun that day!

Portrait of 3 cousins of mine, Lizet, Ania and Jackie. We had so much fun that day!

My niece Marissa and I had a fun time with makeup on this day!

My niece Marissa and I had a fun time with makeup on this day!

 

This entry was published on January 21, 2013 at 8:14 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

